Elusive Soundwave finalists

Open finalists from L-R Ben Chapman, Andy Cummins, Alex Vibert and Sam George.

Photo Vicky Eastwood.


Channel Island Team surfer Sam George has won the open division of the Elusive/Soundwave Jersey Surfabout held at St Ouen’s Bay over the weekend. George, who along with fellow Channel Island Team surfer Scott Eastwood, helped organise the event in order to raise money for the Channel Island Team heading to the European Surfing Championships in the Azores later this month, edged out Alex Vibert to take the win in a building swell at the Watersplash.

The experienced panel of judges had their work cut out in the 20 minute open final as the lead switched throughout the heat with Vibert looking to take the win with stylish rail to rail surfing. Fellow finalists Ben Chapman and Andy Cummins also posted solid scores during the final with Chapman executing some nice carving tail slides and Cummins demonstrating an impressive return to competitive surfing. It was George however who edged out his competitors with a series of precisely executed snaps to take the win with Vibert finishing a close second and Chapman and Cummins third and fourth respectively.

In the Juniors division, Josh Evans posted a convincing win over his younger, less experienced competitors however each showed enormous potential with Will Masterman demonstrating competitive experience beyond his years to earn second place. Jean Barbe-Pinel and Kade Penny, finishing third and fourth respectively, also showed that they have the potential to do well in future junior events.

Dan Harris edged out Sam George to take the longboard title with Josh Le Marquand finishing third and Andy Cummins in fourth. In the women’s division, it was Shelly Mcfarlane who demonstrated that her training for the upcoming European Surfing Championships has paid off by taking a convincing win over Libby Gardener Hillman and Meagan Jones who finished second and third respectively.

The organisers would like to thank Elusive Clothing, Soundwave Surf Shop and Obsessive-Disorder hardware for supporting the event.

Full results:


1 – Sam George.

2 – Alex Vibert.

3 – Ben Chapman.

4 – Andy Cummins.


1 – Josh Evans.

2 – Will Masterman.

3 – Jean Barbe-Pinel.

4 – Kade Penny.


1 – Shelly Mcfarlane.

2 – Libby Gardener-Hillman.

3 – Meagan Jones.


1 – Dan Harris.

2 – Sam George.

3 – Josh Le Marquand.

4 – Andy Cummins.